Launch of the new Eastern Partnership cooperation set-up

The new institutional set-up of the Eastern Partnership (EaP) initiative has been launched in Brussels on March 12th 2018 in the presence of senior officials Senior officials from the EU member states, the 6 Eastern partner countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine) and the EU services. The new structure was already officially adopted at the Eastern Partnership Summit in November 2017 with the joint declaration, which can be viewed here.  

With the new set-up, the EaP cooperation is to become more result-oriented, systematic and visible. During this meeting, participants discussed on the results to be produced ahead of the EaP annual Foreign Ministers meeting in autumn 2018 and showed their strong support to the EaP.

About the EaP

The EaP, a specific dimension of the European Neighbourhood Policy, was launched in 2009 as a joint policy initiative and aims to deepen and strengthen relations between the European Union (EU), its Member States and its six Eastern neighbours: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine. 

More information about the meeting available at:

A concept note on the new institutional set-up can be viewed below, in addition to the factsheet on EaP’s “20 Deliverables for 2020: Bringing tangible results for citizens”.

note_on_new_institutional_set_up_of_eastern_partnership_march_2018.pdf (268.38 KB)Download
eastern_partnership_factsheet_march_2018.pdf (187.02 KB)Download